Theatre & Dance

From theatre history and acting techniques to stage lighting and costuming, the study of theatre and dance covers every aspect of this age-old art form.

At IU South Bend, you can earn a Bachelor of Arts in theatre or a Bachelor of Fine Arts in theatre. The academic and production aspects of the program are integrated to provide students every opportunity to learn the art of theatre. Entrance auditions for the Theatre & Dance program are held in the spring.

The B.A. degree gives students a broad acquaintance and experience with the various ways theatre artists study, interpret, and express the world in which we live. The B.F.A. degree is designed to prepare students for the professional theatre or additional training at the graduate level. It features an intense focus on a selected area of concentration (performance or design/technical) and extensive production experience designed to promote excellence.

Each year theatre and dance students perform or otherwise work on several major productions at the IU South Bend Campus Auditorium or a smaller campus venue, the Upstage.

The Bachelor of Fine Arts Theatre Degree is designed to prepare students for the professional theatre or additional training at the graduate level.  It features an intense focus on a selected area of concentration (performance or design/technical) and extensive production experience designed to promote excellence.

The Bachelor of Arts degree gives students a broad acquaintance and experience with the various ways theatre artists study, interpret, and express the world in which we live.

Theatre Faculty

Tim Hanson

Tim Hanson

Department Chair, Associate Professor of Theatre
Lighting Design and Technical Direction
Office: Northside 029C
Ph: 574-520-4385
E-mail: tphanson@iusb.edu


Justin Amellio

Tim HansonAssistant Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre, Acting, and Directing
Office: Northside 118E
 Ph: 574-520-4676
E-mail: jamellio@iusb.edu

 

J. Randall Colborn

Tim HansonProfessor of Theatre
Acting and Directing
E-mail: rcolborn@iusb.edu

Aimee Cole

Tim HansonLecturer of Theatre
Costume Technology
Office: Northside 117A
Ph: 574-520-4201
E-mail: aimcole@iusb.edu

 

Jason Lee Resler

Tim Hanson

Assistant Professor of Costume Design
Costume Design Office: Northside 118C
Ph: 574-520-4672
E-mail: reslerj@iusb.edu

 

Associate Faculty

Matthew Benedict
benedicm@iusb.edu

David Dufour
dadufour@iusb.edu

Halana Hattery
hhattery@iusb.edu

Carolynn Hine-Johnson, Ph.D.
chinejoh@iusb.edu

Kelly Morgan
morganke@iusb.edu

Karen Pajor
kpajor@iusb.edu

Phil Patnaude
ppatnaud@indiana.edu

Raybin Colin
craybin@iusb.edu

Laury (Ruby Jazayre) Rubin
laurubin@iusb.edu

David Seymour
daseymou@iusb.edu